Mother and Twins monument by Henry Dmochowski Saunders, 1857. In Laurel Hill Cemetery's south section, overlooking Philadelphia's Schuylkill River.
Friends of the Laurel Hill Cemetery will host a grand opening to celebrate the rebuilding of the cemetery's historic pedestrian entrance.
The historic pedestrian entrance originally existed along Laurel Hill Cemetery's river façade, but was removed more than a century ago. The restored entrance will make the grounds newly accessible to the 3,000 joggers, dog walkers, and cyclists who pass by each day, as well as the thousands of people who flock to Philadelphia annually for events along Kelly Drive. Laurel Hill has been a tourist attraction and recreational site since its founding, with grounds that boast notable architecture and a landscaped arboretum. New audiences will have access to available on-site learning resources, such as Laurel Hill's free cell phone tour, and future recreational offerings will likely include nature hikes, group fitness outings, and scavenger hunts.
The opening celebration will feature a performance by Invisible River, tours, refreshments, photo-ops, nature activities, and more.